To view this notification widget you need to have JavaScript enabled. This notification widget was easily created with NotifySnack.

Arts & Culture

Arts & Culture

The JCC of Staten Island is the place to be in Staten Island for arts and culture, whether your interest is film, art, literature, music, theatre or Jewish Life and Learning. And if you like to travel we have special cultural trips as well.

Bella Smorgonskaya, Arts & Culture Coordinator • 718.475.5262 or bsmorgonskaya@sijcc.com

Upcoming Events › Arts & Culture

Events List Navigation

Lunch & Learn Series with Dick Kuhn

October 26 @ 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm

On October,26 we are honored to have Paul L. Sieswerda, the founder of Gotham Whale, to speak at our lunch series. He is the author of the book “Sharks” as well as the author of numerous publications and a distinguished scientist. Q&A will follow.

Dr. Esther Grushkin Seminars for Adult Jewish Education

October 29 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

JCC of Staten Island &
Dr. Esther Grushkin Seminars
for Adult Jewish Education (SAJE)
presents
The Story Behind Mischlinge* Exposé
Concert Pianist Carolyn Enger
Shining light on the stories of Mischlinge
(half-Jews) and German Jewish converts in Germany
before, during, and after the Holocaust.

Broadway Style Theatre

November 14 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Shows with Fred Grieco and upcoming young stars.

Book Club – THE HORSE DANCER BY Jojo Moye

November 16 @ 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm

Throughout the year the book lovers enjoy our monthly Book club discussions with Shelly Burko, who introduces new and exciting authors to book lovers. They usually meet on Thursdays, enjoying a cup of coffee and lively discussion. This is the schedule of our Book Club for the upcoming season. The Horse Dancer: A Novel A quintessential Jojo Moyes novel about a lost girl and her horse, the enduring strength of friendship, and how even the smallest choices can change everything…

Holiday Fair

December 3 @ 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Our traditional Holiday Fair welcomes all local vendors offering unique jewelry, boutique clothing, handbags, floral arrangements, holiday wreaths, toys and much, much more....

Book Club – LILAC GIRLS By Martha Hall Kelly

December 7 @ 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm

Throughout the year the book lovers enjoy our monthly Book club discussions with Shelly Burko, who introduces new and exciting authors to book lovers. They usually meet on Thursdays, enjoying a cup of coffee and lively discussion. This is the schedule of our Book Club for the upcoming season. Lilac Girls: A Novel NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key,inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung…

+ Export Events

Art at the J in the

Murray Berman Art Gallery

Interesting. Intriguing. Stimulating. Exhibits year round at the Art at the J Gallery in the rotunda. Art @ the J continues to offer a wonderful space to local artists to show their work. The exhibits have ranged from nationally recognized artists to photo exhibits by JCC members.

The committee of Art @ the J is co-chaired by Elaine Bloomfield, Dr. Dennis Bloomfield and Tamra Walker. The committee members include Rita Berg,  Molly Honigsfeld, Ronit Lapid, Murray Berman and Stanley Weinstein.

Art @ the J dedicated to finding and giving local artists a place to reach the public while providing JCC members, and the public at large, an opportunity to experience the accessible, stimulating creativity that quietly lives among them.

Murray Berman Art Gallery

@ the Bernikow JCC

1466 Manor Road

Dorothy Delson Kuhn Music Institute

The Dorothy Delson Kuhn Music Institute has been a powerful stimulus to music on Staten Island since its inception. Current and former faculty members and students are active in the cultural life of the community. They teach in Staten Island schools and colleges and they are performers and conductors for ensembles and orchestras locally and throughout the New York City area.

……more

For Membership Inquiries Please Contact:
Membership Services 718.475.5223 

Select JCC facilities are available to all organizations, groups and individuals for life cycle events, meetings and celebrations. Call 718.475.5261 for information.