To view this notification widget you need to have JavaScript enabled. This notification widget was easily created with NotifySnack.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Book Club – LILAC GIRLS By Martha Hall Kelly

December 7, 2017 @ 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm

Throughout the year the book lovers enjoy our monthly Book club discussions with Shelly Burko, who introduces new and exciting authors to book lovers. They usually meet on Thursdays, enjoying a cup of coffee and lively discussion. This is the schedule of our Book Club for the upcoming season.


Lilac Girls: A Novel

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key,inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

Buy the book today online through Amazon Smile

Details

Date:
December 7, 2017
Time:
12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Bernikow JCC
1466 Manor Road
Staten Island, 10314
+ Google Map
Phone:
718.475.5200

For Membership Inquiries Please Contact:
Membership Services 718.475.5223 

Select JCC facilities are available to all organizations, groups and individuals for life cycle events, meetings and celebrations. Call 718.475.5261 for information.